India, Infographics

Operational Indian Satellites as of April 2015


Operational Indian Satellites - Infographic

According to Government of India, there was no satellite failure in the process of launching during last 3 years period. There are 27 satellites that are operational in the country currently. These are as follows:

  • 11 Communication Satellites namely, INSAT-3A, INSAT-3C, INSAT-4A, INSAT-4B, INSAT-4CR, GSAT-7, GSAT-8, GSAT-10, GSAT-12, GSAT-14 and GSAT-16.
  • 12 Earth Observation Satellites namely, Resourcesat-2, RISAT-1, RISAT-2, Cartosat-1, Cartosat-2, Cartosat-2A, Cartosat-2B, Oceansat-2, SARAL, Kalpana-1, Megha-Tropiques and INSAT-3D.
  • 3 Navigational Satellites namely, IRNSS-1A, IRNSS-1B and IRNSS-1C
  • 1 Mars Orbiter Mission 13 foreign satellites launched during this period: SPOT-6 (France), PROITERES (Japan), SAPPHIRE (Canada), NEOSSat (Canada), NLS 8.1 (Austria), NLS 8.2 (Austria), NLS 8.3 (Denmark), STRaND-1 (UK), SPOT-7 (France), NLS 7.1 (Canada), NLS 7.2 (Canada), AISat (Germany) & VELOX-1 (Singapore).

Source: Press Information Bureau, Government of India


About Author

Srinivas is a Software engineer, has passion for Social Activism, Politics, Public policies and Right To Information enthusiast.

Comments are closed.